Independence or In Dependence…

 a picture riddle for you: which looks seamless, so right, that beautiful fireworks sounding word – what our country stands for, good grief?  Which gets more points in Scrabble, which is able to boast just by the very length of its being?  and… which one is shorter, and if one looks carefully, one can almost see that first small “n” in “In” grasping out to the “D” in “Dependence” to be a part of something bigger than it can be on its own?

In Dependence: “Lord, You are my Rock and my fortress; Therefore for Your Name’s sake , lead me and guide me.”  (Ps. 31:3)

Independence:  “The fool says, I am in need of nothing…”

In Dependence:  “Have mercy on me, O  Lord, for I am in trouble!” (Ps. 31:9)

Independence:  “Quick!  Get to the computer and google “how to get out of this trouble” and  order the book and chew  your nails until it comes, yes  help is on the way…”

In Dependence: “Has He not said, wait…wait…wait…?

Independence:  There  must be a limit to the waiting…

In Dependence:  “Lord!  Don’t forsake the work of  your Hands!  Your Mercy endures forever so I ask You to accomplish that which concerns me!” (Ps. 138:8)

In Dependence:  “On You I will wait all the day

Independence:  “I can’t just wait all day”

In Dependence:  “MAKE me know the way I should go” (Ps. 143:8)

Independence:  I must have gone the wrong way to get us here in this place…

In Dependence: “Revive me, O Lord, for Your Name’s  sake” (Ps. 143:11)

Independence:  maybe you  have everything you need…OR maybe you know you don’t have close to everything  you need, but you simply can’t buy the party line anymore that to simply cry out to Him and WAIT IS the way to go…so you’re busy; busy in your mind, busy with your actions, busy listing solutions, busy doing everything but crying out and waiting.  Or maybe you are crying out then acting as soon as you are done crying out…

I know even if I am not doing anything, I can be completely independent in my mind, wrestling with thoughts and solutions, all the while I sit and wait…Maybe it is simply a tiredness of waiting and so I stop talking to Him about the thing I have been bending His ear over for eternity, it seems…

In Dependence:  that little word “in” – O so desperately needing the Dependence to even breathe…

Independence, on the other hand, self-sufficient, prays then acts.  Or acts then prays.  But…limits its prayers, I think…Quick to determine whether prayer is  working or not based on response time from God.  Quick to move on from praying if doesn’t see results.  Takes the word “wait” and puts a time limit on its definition.  Uses the currency of minutes when defining “wait”, when God’s currency is certainly years, if not generations…

Should there be a time limit on waiting?  After all, we moderns are nothing if not realistic.  What IS a realistic amount of time to wait on God?  Wait for God?  what is a realistic number of times  to cry out to God about the very same thing you cried out to Him about yesterday??

Independence numbers,  defines, puts boundaries on, is realistic, and looks for results.  In  Dependence cries out to Him, and waits…

I don’ t know how long one is to wait before taking action…or whether you can be in  a posture of waiting while taking action… but I DO know that if  I use  Scripture as my definition of how long to wait, then I am impatient, for I have yet to wait for my entire life and then die,  still  not having realized the fulfillment of His promises to me, like He asked some to do.   How many actual children DID Abraham, the “father of many” actually have, when he died?  Nations?  no.  What about the land he was promised  as an inheritance? no.

Maybe the mistake is in thinking that the waiting is only productive if one has something to show at the end of its time?  Or maybe it is an attitude of independence that is so offensive to our Father who knows how  bad we need Him, who not only doesn’t mind being needed, loves being the One who is the  Rock and Redeemer and Deliverer…

I think maybe that long word, independence, is an  illusion…best  to stick  with what is proven to be right, whether it looks that way or not…He IS faithful – He tells us our way of measuring time is  all off, that what for us feels years is but a second, that our whole time here on earth is as short as a vapor…

Waiting is  one thing we can do…and it is good and  right, and never wrong, I don’t think…

“We are  married unto Christ; and shall our great Bridegroom permit His spouse to linger in constant grief?   Our hearts are knit unto Him: we are His members, and though for awhile we may suffer as our Head  once suffered, yet we are even now blessed with heavenly blessings in Him…There are streaks of joy to herald our eternal sun-rising…”

Wait…He is coming and all  manner of all things  will be well…

Leave a Reply

